Repertoire

Charlotte Kaiser places great emphasis on a concert repertoire with a wide variety. Besides performing baroque and original classic literature (including Domenico Scarlatti, Gabriele Leone, Nepomuk Hummel and Ludwig van Beethoven) solo or accompanied by cembalo or guitar her interests also lie in contemporary interpretations of romantic mandolin literature. A favourite of hers is Raffaele Calace, a grand master of this period, whose preludes to this day belong to the most virtuous compositions for solo mandolin distinguished by technical ambition and deep musical emotion.

Most of all Charlotte is fascinated by the interpretation of contemporary compositions, for example by Yasuo Kuwahara or Heinrich Konietzny. Their compositions, which require highest virtuosity combined with expressive rhythm and broad dynamic spectrum, open new ways of expression to the mandolin thus offering the listener entirely new insights into the world of mandolin music.

In addition to her solo activities, Charlotte collaborates on different events in various chamber ensemble-instrumentations, for example in plucked string quartets (two mandolins, mandola, and guitar) or with accordion. Also, she adapts violin literature (e.g. violin concerts by Johann Sebastian Bach) to the mandolin letting them sound in new ways. These adaptions create opportunities to perform as a soloist in orchestras beyond original mandolin concerts. Examples of original mandolin literature within the framework of the classic concert program are concerts by Hummel or Vivaldi, as well as stage music with the mandolin for the operas Don Giovanni (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart) or Otello (Guiseppe Verdi).

Repertoire

Charlotte Kaiser legt großen Wert auf die vielseitige Mischung eines Konzertrepertoires. Somit interessiert sie sich neben dem Spielen von barocker und klassischer Originalliteratur (u.A. von Domenico Scarlatti, Gabriele Leone, Nepumuk Hummel und Ludwig van Beethoven) mit und ohne Cembalo- oder Gitarrenbegleitung auch für die zeitgemäße Interpretation von romantischer Mandolinenliteratur. Ein großer Meister dieser Zeit war Raffaele Calace, dessen Preludien bis heute zu den virtuosesten Werken für Mandoline solo zählen und sich durch technischen Anspruch und großen musikalischen Affekt auszeichnen.

Vor allem begeistert Charlotte Kaiser sich für die Interpretation zeitgenössischer Komponisten wie Yasuo Kuwahara oder Heinrich Konietzny. Diese verleihen der Mandoline neue Ausdrucksformen, höchste Virtuosität vereint sich mit ausdrucksstarker Rhythmik und großem dynamischen Spektrum und bietet somit dem Zuhörer völlig neue Einblicke in die Welt der Mandolinenmusik.

Neben der solistischen Tätigkeit arbeitet Charlotte Kaiser zu verschiedenen Anlässen in unterschiedlichen kammermusikalischen Besetzungen, so zum Beispiel in Zupfquartetten (zwei Mandolinen, Mandola und Gitarre) oder mit Akkordeon. Außerdem adaptiert sie Geigenliteratur (z.B. Violinenkonzerte von Johann Sebastian Bach) auf die Mandoline und lässt sie auf neue Art und Weise erklingen. Dadurch ergibt sich auch neben originalen Mandolinenkonzerten die Möglichkeit, solistisch mit Orchestern aufzutreten. Beispiele für originale Literatur für Mandoline im Rahmen des klassischen Konzertprogrammes sind Konzerte von Hummel oder Vivaldi, sowie die Bühnenmusiken mit Mandoline in den Opern Don Giovanni (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart) oder Otello (Guiseppe Verdi).